* unauthorized MTS GALLERY blog*

Interview with Bruce Farnsworth

leave a comment »

Photobucket

Hi Friends and Fans of MTS Gallery! Here is the next in the MTS Gallery interview series…. The first interview was with Hal Gage… are you ready for Bruce? Stay tuned to the blog for more interviews…

Questions for Bruce Farnsworth –

How would you describe yourself and what you do?
Some people call me a poet. I say, I write lines that don’t go all the way across the page.

What is your current role with MTS Gallery?

One member of the seven-member Godhead

How did you first become involved with the MTS and the Trailer Art Center?

On the 6th day we created art. On the seventh, a gallery to show it in.

What do you like most about being a part of the MTS Gallery and the Trailer Art Center?

Mostly the fame, I’d say. Then, of course, the fortune. The groupies, next. OK, I’m joking. I love what everybody loves about volunteering for a non-profit gallery: Lots of stress, hard work, and a complete absence of recognition or appreciation for ones effort. What more could a fella ask for?

Can you give a brief history of how the Trailer Art Center and MTS Gallery was formed? What is the relationship with the Trailer Art Center, MTS Gallery and the Land Trust?
That’s a kind of fact-based question wouldn’t you say? And I thought I already kind of answered it in question #3. Oh, well. I’ll try again: We finished the gallery renovations on May 10th, 2006, just in time to fill it with artwork for the visiting officials of the Ford Foundation. The first “official” exhibition opening occurred on August 4th, 2006 for a show called “New Works on Paper.” The exhibition featured work by three artists born and raised in Anchorage, all of whom were long-time activists in the art center movement. Two of them, Gretchen Sagan and Hal Gage are on the board of directors of the Trailer Art Center non-profit.

Have you had any work shown at the gallery and/or been involved in any performances?

It’s not a poetry gallery, fool.

Can you name one show that you have seen (either visual or performance art or both) at MTS Gallery that really made an impact on you? What did you like most about the show?
All of them. I’m pretty shallow so it doesn’t take much to make an impact on me.

How do you hope the Trailer Art Center will grow and expand in the next 5 years?
This city needs an art center like the one we’ve been working toward for the past few years. I have a belief that it will change the art community—enliven and invigorate it. Our young artists will not all have to leave here. I think it will touch off a chain reaction. We’ll see. I could be wrong.

How long have you been a writer?

I wrote my first (and last) novel at age eight.

How did you initially become involved with writing?

As an eight year old, I had a science fiction story burning inside me that had to be written. I wrote it on my mom’s old manual Olympia typewriter. I let her read the manuscript when I finished. I asked her what she thought. It was during her response that I first heard the word, ‘trite.’

How can we find copies of what you have written?

Rummage through my garbage out along the side of the garage.

What inspires you to do your work?
Grief, mostly. The documentation of it and the effort to keep it at bay. It’s a leaky dike in a hurricane but it beats most medications.

Can you tell part of the story about the Trailer Family and how the Trailer Art Center got it’s name?

The story of the Trailer family, early homesteaders and pioneers in South Central Alaska is the subject of Mike Doogan’s next book. As his editor and publisher it wouldn’t be ethical of me to reveal any of the details.

What show are you most excited about to see/be involved in at the MTS Gallery this year?
Wow. There are a lot. I can’t answer that.

Are you a Mountain View resident?

No, but you couldn’t tell it.

How long have you lived in Alaska and where did you grow up?

30 years ago this November I drove up the Alcan Hwy. from San Antonio with all of my worldly possessions in my 1972 Dodge Dart.

Do you have children?
Yes, three, but they have made me promise not to reveal their names.

If you had a vision for a transportation solution in the greater Anchorage area, what would it be?

I’d like my 1972 Dodge Dart back.

Oh, you probably mean a general solution, not just a personal one, right? Okay. I have a three point plan to solve our transportation problems: 1) A light rail monorail, 2) better, safer bike lanes and paths, and mainly, 3) Plow the sidewalks in winter but not the streets. Actually, plow the streets but don’t remove the snow. Just make a big berm in the middle of each street so that over the course of the winter there is just one lane each way on all streets of every size. This will make everybody slow down and lower winter accident rates and make it all more fun and save all that trucking and dumping and managing of snow which is very silly. This will free up lots of personnel and equipment to keep all the sidewalks plowed for bikes and pedestrians.

In your opinion, how can art effectively change a community?

It can’t.

What, in your opinion, makes a good artist?
Guts.

Any other comments?
No.

Photobucket
above photo – Bruce Farnsworth (MTS Gallery superhero – being barraged by questions from both sides)

Written by mtsgallery

August 18, 2008 at 6:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

