* unauthorized MTS GALLERY blog*

Interview with Miho Aoki

leave a comment »


What is your name, where are you originally from and how long have you lived in Alaska?

My name is Miho Aoki. I was born in Japan and came to the US in 1995. I moved to Alaska in 2001.


What is your current job title and what do you do for work (besides art)?

I’m an Associate Professor of Computer Art and a joint faculty of Arctic Region Supercomputing Center

How did you get connected with MTS Gallery?

I was referred from Well Street Gallery in Fairbanks.

How long have you been an artist? What excites you about making art?

I’ve been showing my artworks for about 17 years. I started using 3D computer graphics for my art about 10 years ago.

How did you feel your opening went at MTS Gallery? Were you surprised by any aspect of the event?

It was my first show in Anchorage, so I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.
I think it went well. It was very nice to see people I met in UAA and Kenai Visitor Center’s exhibitions again in Anchorage.

What is your reaction (if any) to the reviews that you received for your Visions exhibition?

People in Fairbanks told me that they saw the article on ADN.


Are you planning on touring this particular show to Fairbanks, Homer or any other location?

I exhibited some of the pieces from the show in Fairbanks.
Currently I don’t have plans to show the works, but it would be great to show the works in other place like Homer and Juneau.

How does the culture you were raised in influence your art (if it does at all)?

The writing systems of Eastern Asian languages influenced me a lot.
I think the pictorial and logogram aspects of Kanji (Chinese Characters) are visible in my drawings.

Are there any barriers (social or otherwise) that you face with the artistic medium that you work with?

I focus on more universal themes, like human and animal figures and nature, so I don’t feel cultural barriers much.


What programs do you use to create your art?


I use AutoDesk Maya to create 3D models. I create the 3D models in two methods. I model objects manually based on my drawing while I also write scripts to generate 3D models automatically. I also use Adobe Photoshop in various stages in my create process to incorporate photographs into my images.


Any advice for emerging artists?

A professor from my undergraduate time told me that if you can keep producing good works and staying in the art scene for three years, you can keep going for another three years, then another three years… I believe he is right. However, you might get tired after years. I think finding a way to keep coming up with fresh ideas and maintaining motivation is important.


Anything you would like to add?

It’s very exciting to show my works in Anchorage. I would like thank everyone in MTS Gallery.


Both photos taken by Kaji (friend of Miho Aoki)

Written by mtsgallery

August 22, 2008 at 2:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

